The Jim Tiedje Award

The “Jim Tiedje Award” is presented by ISME to an exalted microbial ecologist who is recognized for their Outstanding Lifetime contribution to the field of microbial ecology. Past winners of this award include Farooq Azam (2004), Gijs Kuenen (2006), Norman Pace (2008), and Bo Barker Jørgensen (2010). An expert panel comprising individuals selected by the ISME Executive will judge this biennial award.
Dr. Stephen J. Giovannoni will be this year's awardee of this prestigious award.


The ISME Young Investigators Award

The “ISME Young Investigator Award” recognizes early career microbial ecologists who have made significant contributions to this field. Past winners of this award include Ian Head (2004), Phil Hugenholtz (2006), Forest Rohwer (2008) and Marc Strous (2010). An expert panel comprising individuals selected by the ISME Executive are the judges of this biennial award. The recipient of the 2012 award will be announced at the opening session of the ISME14 Symposium.


The ISME Student Poster Award

The “ISME Student Poster Award” is reserved for students or postdocs who are the first and presenting author on a submitted poster presentation (proof of (postgraduate) studentship will be required). Three outstanding posters will be chosen each day (Monday, Tuesday and Thursday) of the ISME14 conference. Awardees will receive free membership of ISME for 2012. Winning posters will be displayed in a prominent location on Friday 23 August 2012. Awards will be presented at the closing ceremony of ISME14.

 The David C. White Award

 David C. White’s vision was to honor and respect the power of   quantitative analytical chemistry to microbial ecology. Thus, the “D.C. White Award” will be presented to the most innovative poster at the ISME14 conference. The announcement of the “D.C. White award” will be made at the closing ceremony of the ISME14 symposium and will be presented by Sandy White.

The MO BIO Poster Award
Our Gold Sponsor MO BIO Laboratories will be selecting a poster out of the selected ISME Poster awards to be the recipient of this inaugral award.

The Postdoctoral Research Awards

The ISME Postdoctoral Research Awards will acknowledge the accomplishments and promise of outstanding postdoctoral research associates on the basis of the presentations that they make at the ISME Symposium.  The criteria will include scientific accomplishments and innovation as well as clarity of presentation at the Symposium.  Initial selection criteria will be on the basis of submitted abstracts that will be chosen for oral presentations by the organizers.  Final evaluation will be made at the meeting, by evaluating the oral presentations of the candidates.


The ISME Travel Awards

The ISME travel awards are open to all ISME members who are currently enrolled as a research higher degree student or no more than 2 years past completion of their PhD. The applicant should be the first author of an abstract submitted to the symposium. For more information please click here.

FEMS Young Scientist Meeting Grant
As ISME's sponsor, FEMS offers to support the attendance of young scientists. Members of a FEMS Member Society that are younger than 36 years and are the presenting author of an abstract can apply for the grant. You may find more information on the grant here