ISME15 Awardees

ISME is extremely pleased to announce that the 2014 Jim Tiedje Award winner is Prof. Dr. Nancy Moran, University of Texas at Austin, USA. Furthermore, Dr. Ruth Ley, Cornell University, USA, has been awarded the 2014 ISME Young Investigators Award.
Congratulations to both winners!

On Thursday 28 August, Ruth Ley will be presented the award after her plenary lecture in the morning,  and in the afternoon you can join us for the official Tiedje Award Evening, which will feature a reception with drinks and bites, followed by Nancy Moran's lecture.

The Winners 

The ISME Young Investigators Award

Ruth Ley, Cornell University, USA

Ruth E. Ley, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor of Microbiology at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY. She was trained in ecology and natural history at the University of California Berkeley (B.A.) and in ecosystem science and soil microbial ecology at the University of Colorado, Boulder, where she worked with Dr. Steve Schmidt (Ph.D.). Her post doctoral research was first with Dr. Norman Pace, working on highly diverse hypersaline microbial mats. She then transitioned to working with Dr. Jeffrey Gordon on the microbial ecology of obesity at Washington University School of Medicine. She is an author on 4 of the 10 most highly cited papers on the human microbiome. Her interdisciplinary group at Cornell works on the human microbiome at different scales of analysis, including large-scale genetic studies in human to discover novel pathways of interaction between host and microbiome, and mechanistic studies of those interactions using germfree mice as a tool to assemble and interrogate specific microbiotas. Dr. Ley’s awards have included the Hartwell Investigator Award, the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Young Investigator Award, a David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship, and an NIH Director’s New Innovator Award.

The Tiedje Award

Nancy Moran, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Nancy A. Moran obtained a B.A. from the University of Texas in 1976 and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in 1982. From 1986 to 2010, she served on the faculty of the University of Arizona, where she was a Regents’ Professor. From 2010 to 2013, she was the William H. Fleming Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Yale. Since August 2013, she has been a Professor at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Moran has investigated the evolution of bacterial genomes and of symbiotic associations between bacteria and insects. She has shown that intimate symbiotic associations date to the origins of major groups of organisms, and she has used genomic and experimental work to show that these associations provide hosts with essential molecules and defenses. She also works on general principles involving the evolution of genomes in bacteria. Currently she investigates heritable bacterial symbionts in insects and also specialized gut communities of bees. She has published over 200 scientific papers, most of them about symbiosis.

Moran has received a number of recognitions for her research. She was appointed as a Fellow of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation in 1997. She served as President of the Society for the Study of Evolution in 2000, was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 2004, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2004, the American Academy of Microbiology in 2004, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2007. In 2010, she was awarded the International Prize for Biology by the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.