The Awards Committee is responsible for the organization of the three ISME awards: The Jim Tiedje Award, the Early Career Award, and the newly established Mid-Career Award.

Nominations for these awards are solicited from ISME members, after which the Awards Committee selects three finalists per award, and the Executive Board chooses the winner out of the proposed finalists by anonymous vote.

The Awards Committee consists of four members, including the ISME Vice President, who will chair the committee. The Vice President will select the committee members from the ISME membership and/or previous awardees, representing various areas of microbial ecology, geographic regions, career stages, and gender.

The Awards

The Jim Tiedje Award recognizes outstanding lifetime contributions to microbial ecology. Nominees are still active in the field and have been for at least 30 years.

The Mid-Career Award recognizes scientists who have substantially advanced the field of microbial ecology. The award recognises outstanding contributions to microbial ecology including the development of novel techniques, proposing and advancing ecology theories and establishing new disciplines within the field. Nominees must be active researchers 10-25 years post PhD.

The Early Career Award recognizes early career microbial ecologists who have made significant contributions to this field. Nominees are no more than 10 years post PhD.