An expert panel comprising individuals selected by the ISME Executive are the judges of this biennial award. Previous winners:

kl United States

Catherine Lozupone
University of Colorado
gt Australia

Gene Tyson
The University of Queensland
Ruth Ley United States

Ruth Ley
Cornell University
Victoria Orphan United States

Victoria J. Orphan
California Institute of Technology
ms Germany

Marc Strous
Max Planck Institute
fr United States

Forest Rohwer
San Diego State University
ph United States

Phil Hugenholtz
DOE Jount Genome Institute
ih United Kingdom

Ian Head
Newcastle University